About

Dan was born in Germany. He got his first guitar at the age of 11 and at 15 he played and sang in his school’s band.

After graduating from high school, he studied linguistics (English and Slavic) at the Potsdam Pedagogical University and then worked as a teacher of English and Russian. In the early seventies he began to write his first own songs and became a professional musician in 1981.

After leaving the GDR during a tour of West Germany in 1985, he settled in West Berlin. As the frontman of the hard rock band “KARO”, he toured Europe together with MEAT LOAF.

After moving to Munich, the record contract with Marlboro Music brought him to Vancouver, where he worked with the musicians of the legendary group LOVERBOY and MANNY CHARLTON, guitarist and producer of NAZARETH. The album “CANADA” was released in 1992.

A year later he won the European Song Contest in Istanbul with his song “Canadian Dream”.

After that Dan went to Los Angeles, where he stayed for a few months. There he met some of the best musicians in America to play on his album “2000!”. Even the famous songwriter DESMOND CHILD, responsible for songs for bands like Bon Jovi and Aerosmith and many more, took the time to write a song together with Dan (Close Your Eyes And Say Goodbye).

In 1996, McDonald’s chose Dan’s song “Heart of America” for their advertising campaign during the Atlanta Olympics. The song is still on the playlist of many radio stations. Another album “NEWS” and a “Best of DAN LUCAS” album were released afterwards.

In 2018/19, he won the first season of “The Voice Senior.” This was followed by some performances as a guest at “Rock Meets Classic” in spring 2019. In November 2019, the single “Don’t Stop Believin'” – a cover version of the song by the band Journey – was released by Universal Records Germany.

Currently, Dan is in the studio preparing his new album that will be released in October 2021 on “Pride & Joy Music”.

„Music gives you answers, but it could not have been formulated als an answer at all. Nevertheless, you feel it and that´s all that matters.”

[c] Dan Lucas 2021 - powered by DEICHGRAPH | DATENSCHUTZ | IMPRESSUM

Biografie

Dan wurde in Deutschland geboren. Seine erste Gitarre bekam er im Alter von 11 Jahren und mit 15 Jahren spielte und sang er in der Band seiner Schule.

Er studierte nach dem Abitur an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Potsdam Sprachwissenschaften (Anglistik und Slawistik) und arbeitete danach als Lehrer für Englisch und Russisch. Anfang der siebziger Jahre begann er, seine ersten eigenen Lieder zu schreiben und wurde im Jahr 1981 Berufsmusiker.

Nach der Ausreise aus der DDR während einer Tournee in Westdeutschland im Jahr 1985 ließ er sich in West-Berlin nieder. Als Frontmann der Hardrock-Band „KARO“ ging er zusammen mit MEAT LOAF auf Europatournee.

Nach dem Umzug nach München brachte ihn der Plattenvertrag bei Marlboro Music nach Vancouver, wo er mit den Musikern der legendären Gruppe LOVERBOY und MANNY CHARLTON, Gitarrist und Produzent von NAZARETH, zusammenarbeitete. Das Album „CANADA“ wurde 1992 veröffentlicht.

Ein Jahr später gewann er den European Song Contest in Istanbul mit seinem Song „Canadian Dream“.

Danach ging Dan nach Los Angeles, wo er ein paar Monate blieb. Dort traf er einige der besten Musiker Amerikas, um auf seinem Album „2000!“ zu spielen. Sogar der bekannte Songwriter DESMOND CHILD, der für Songs für Bands wie Bon Jovi und Aerosmith u.v.m. verantwortlich ist, nahm sich die Zeit, um gemeinsam mit Dan einen Song zu schreiben (Close Your Eyes And Say Goodbye).

1996 wählte McDonald’s Dans Song „Heart of America“ für ihre Werbekampagne anlässlich der Olympischen Spiele in Atlanta. Der Song ist immer noch auf der Playlist vieler Radiosender. Ein weiteres Album „NEWS“ und ein „Best of DAN LUCAS“ – Album wurden danach veröffentlicht.

2018/19 gewann er die erste Staffel von „The Voice Senior“. Es folgten einige Auftritte als Gast bei „Rock Meets Classic“ im Frühjahr 2019. Im November 2019 wurde die Single „Don’t Stop Believin'“ – eine Coverversion des Songs von der Band Journey – bei Universal Records Germany veröffentlicht.

Momentan bereitet Dan im Studio sein neues Album vor, dass im Oktober 2021 bei „Pride & Joy Music“ erscheinen wird.

„Musik gibt Dir Antworten, die man aber als Antwort gar nicht hätte formulieren können. Trotzdem fühlt man sie und das ist alles, was wichtig ist.

[c] Dan Lucas 2021 - powered by DEICHGRAPH | DATENSCHUTZ | IMPRESSUM